Username:

Password:

Author Topic: No FAL - Wanting to import Air Force Talon PCP Pistol. Very confused by rules.  (Read 6318 times)

Offline Some_Web_Guy

• Mana 1
    • View Profile
Hi everyone,

Really wanting to get into PCP without getting a FAL as I am not an NZ citizen.  My understanding of the current legal situation is that PCP Pistols are not subjected to the same laws that PCP rifles are.  I am wanting to import an Air Force Talon PCP Pistol from Pyramidair.

Will I require a FAL or a permit for this pistol?
Does anyone have a different similar gun if the Talon is unavailable?  I am wanting to get into hunting with PCP and since possums are pretty sturdy, I am looking for something with high FPE output for quick kills.

Thanks for your input. 

Offline Mintie

• Mana 29
    • View Profile
I'm no expert on current state of import laws but I believe anything that is modeled against a real pistol will be rejected at the border now, most pcp hunting pistols probably wouldn't fall into this category tho I would have thought. There are some locally made pcp pistols around and the odd imported one come up for sale every so often.

Does not being a citizen stop you from getting a fal? Do you hold one in your home country?
Lots of airguns

Offline Some_Web_Guy

• Mana 1
    • View Profile
Link to the pistol in question:

http://www.pyramydair.com/s/m/AirForce_TalonP_PCP_Air_Pistol_Spin_Loc_Tank/2400/5127

To be honest I am not sure about the exact rules regarding me not being a citizen, but I know getting one from my home country is harder than its worth.  I am also renting which makes the storage requirements of a FAL hard as well.

Offline Mintie

• Mana 29
    • View Profile